# 2014 MATE INTERNATIONAL ROV COMPETITION OFFICIALS

#### **COMPETITION COORDINATOR**

Jill Zande, MATE Center

### **TECHNICAL MANAGER & RULES JUDGE**

Matt Gardner, MATE Center

# **CHIEF JUDGE**

Fritz Stahr, University of Washington

### **EVENT SITE COORDINATOR**

Kathryn Loomis, MATE Center

#### **VENUE HOSTS**

Jeff Gray, Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary (TBNMS) Sarah Waters, TBNMS Stephanie Gandulla, TBNMS Russ Green, TBNMS Chuck Bennett, TBNMS Patrick Saker, TBNMS David Cummins, Alpena Community College

# **ENGINEERING**

#### **EXPLORER - Tent #1**

Neil Stagg, BP Exploration Operating Company Limited Rick Rudnick, Boeing Bryan Dort, Infor, Inc.

### EXPLORER – Tent #2

Marty Klein, Martin Klein Consulting Lisa Spence, NASA Matthew Cook, SeaView Systems

# **EXPLORER - Tent #3**

Eben Franks, Educational Consultant Eric Baker, Pratt & Whitney Michael Bunch, Chrysler

# **RANGER - Riverside Space**

Pat Barrow, Oceaneering International Graeme Dunbar, The Robert Gordon University Dan Scoville, Oceaneering International

# **RANGER – Conference Room**

Farley Shane, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute Ed Kavanaugh, Retired, Charter Communications Moe Sahli, Oceaneering International

#### **RANGER - Conservation Lab**

Tony Saucier, C-Innovation Kosta Papisideris, Oceaneering International Tracy D'Augustino, Northeast Michigan Great Lakes Stewardship Initiative

# OFF-SITE TECHNICAL REPORT JUDGES

Jack Hirschfelder, University of Maryland Ben Honey, NASA Mike Dupre, Shell Projects and Technology Russell Kackley, NAOJ – Subaru Telescope Ed Wetherell, Keck Observatory Susan Sinclair, NASA Seth Baklor, Ford Motor Company Renee Ishisaka, SSFM International John Downing, MTS-Puget Sound Pete Herder, Hydra-Power Systems, Inc. Robert Keith, R.J. Keith & Associates

#### **MISSION**

# **EXPLORER - Mission Station 1**

Leah Hebert, Oceaneering International Lee Cofer, Naval Surface Warfare Center Panama City Division

#### **EXPLORER - Mission Station 2**

Mike Pinto, Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute Tom Waligora, Oceaneering International

### **EXPLORER - Mission Station 3**

Tom Glebas, VideoRay, LLC. Dee Crouch, MIT Alumni

#### **EXPLORER - Mission Station 4**

Jamie Klein, Martin Klein Consulting Clar Button, O'Donel High School

#### **RANGER - Mission Station 1**

John Still, The Robert Gordon University Steven Bradshaw, General Motors

## **RANGER - Mission Station 2**

Scott Bentley, VideoRay, LLC. John Downing, MTS-Puget Sound

# **RANGER - Mission Station 3**

Lisa Hicks, General Motors Brent Tompkins, ROVShack

### **POSTER**

Carol Rivera, Goodman Middle School
Marla Crouch, N.B.C.T., Maywood Middle School
Stanley Janicki, University of Washington
Vera Kavanaugh, TBNMS
Jacque Kendziorski, Graphic Designer
Jane Kroll, Great Lakes Divers
Daniel Moffatt, Northeast Michigan Great Lakes Stewardship Initiative
Katelynn Moffatt, TBNMS
Diane Nelson, Alpena Public Schools
Jody Patterson, NOAA Gray's Reef National Marine Sanctuary
Mary Beth Stutzman, Alpena Visitor and Convention Bureau
Greg Sundin, City Manager for the City of Alpena

# **MISSION & POOL PRACTICE COORDINATORS**

Timmie Sinclair, MATE Center Deidre Sullivan, MATE Center

### **TECHNICAL & LOGISTICAL SUPPORT**

Liesl Hotaling, University of South Florida Candiya Mann, Washington State University Andrea Ronstad, Jesuit Robotics Helen Zinn, Jesuit Robotics

#### **MATE Central**

Allison Loomis, MATE Center

## **SAFETY CHECKS**

Scott Fraser, Long Beach City College Darian Breaux, Oceaneering International James Hotard, Oceaneering International Thomas Levis, Oceaneering International

### **REPAIR STATION**

Steve Allardyce, The Robert Gordon University David Smith, The Robert Gordon University Paul Williams, Emerald Harbor Marine Josh Berg, Purdue University Michael Hayashi, Purdue University Kyle Rakos, Purdue University

#### **DIVERS**

Wayne Lusardi, TBNMS
John Caplis
Luke Clyburn
Paul Coleman
Robert Doyle
Michael Dunham
Lisa Edwards
Jordan Guy
Joey Jackson
Thomas Keerl
Stephen Kroll

Ruth Laugal Merl Melton

Caitlin Simpson

Kathy Trax

Noble Odyssey Foundation & the Great Lakes Division, US Naval Sea Cadets

# Additional (after printing)

Elizabeth Bush Maureen Dean Keegan Ingle Kenneth McQuarrie

## **OFFICIAL SCOREKEEPERS**

Debbi Kill, MTS
Emily Barrow, McMullan Elementary School
Harriet Smith, TBNMS

# **VIDEOSTREAMING**

Patrick Rowe, Midwest ROV Rick Rupan, University of Washington

#### **RUNNERS**

Amanda & Haley Barrow Jean Bauer, TBNMS Abbie Diaz, TBNMS Cathy Green, TBNMS Samantha Kelly Shawn Stuart

# **PHOTOGRAPHERS**

Jim Anderson, Anderson Ad & Illustration Joe Rybarczyk

Scott Seymour, Midwest ROV Tane Casserley, TBNMS Ray Zielinski, TBNMS

# **VIDEOGRAPHERS**

Jeff Dougherty Anne Marlowe Don Walker

# MEDIA/PR/SOCIAL MEDIA

Caroline Brown, MATE Center
Madelyn "Maddy" Armstrong, Stockbridge High School
Chloe Hypes, Stockbridge High School
Karly Kruger, Stockbridge High School
Emma Morris, Stockbridge High School

### MARINE TECHNOLOGY SOCIETY

Drew Michel, MTS President

## **SPECIAL GUESTS**

Nancy Franks

Jason Gillham, 2GRobotics

Chris Gilson, 2GRobotics

Olin Joynton, President Alpena Community College & Sanctuary Advisory Council President

Mike Kendziorski, Kendziorski, Inc.

Amy Marquette, Oceaneering International

Don McMaster, Alpena Community College

Peggy Michel, MTS

Kim Thornhill, Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland

Bob Wernli, IEEE OES

Charles Wiesen, President Friends of Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary

# **OCEAN CAREER EXPO**

Marine Technology Society

Oceaneering International

Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers Oceanic Engineering Society

Alpena Community College

SeaView Systems

Teledyne Marine Interconnect Solutions

2GRobotics

**ROVShack** 

Northwest Michigan College's Great Lakes Water Studies Institute